What is a run level in Linux and to change system run level?


I would like to understand the meaning of run level in a Linux system. And how can i change the run level of
my system. Am using Ubuntu 14.04 64-bit.

Thanks… …


Please describe your question clearly in 250 characters…

In linux there are 7 (0,…,6) runlevels once look at the below article it may help you

and setting default runlevel in Ubuntu fallow the below steps

vim /etc/init/rc-sysinit.conf

and change the below line


This article re-enforces the above. You may want to go through it if you need a little ore information.

1 Like